Kalanggaman Island

November 2015 when I first went to Kalanggaman Island. My friend and I got there late in the afternoon and the tide was already high that it hid the long sandbar that made the island so popular. So, there’s no sandbar for me. I wasn’t disappointed cause I had a good time swimming on the calm water of Kalanggaman, but I wasn’t satisfied neither. So I promised myself I will go back and spend a night in the island in order for me to see that sandbar. And last January 21st, I was able to fulfill that promise. Together with 5 of my office mates, I went back and spent a night in the island. YAY!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Bye, Palompon Port!
Our Captain ๐Ÿ™‚
An officer explaining the Do’s and Don’ts in Kalanggaman

Going to Kalanggaman Island from the Palompon Port usually takes 45-60 minutes. But for us, it took us almost 2 hours! And we blame it to the strong wind and the furious waves. Having the water splash on you while you are on the boat was fun at first. You will just look at your friends, check who else got wet and then laugh it out. But after an hour of wiping off water from our body and ensuring our bags are still dry, we all got impatient. It’s as if we were just on the same coordinates we were minutes ago! It was a little past lunch time when weย got to step on the white sand of Kalanggaman

So near yet so far ๐Ÿ˜€

Four of my companions wereย 1st time campers, so we excitedly set up our tents we rented from Habagat, they can be found just beside Palompom’s tourism office. We are 6 in our group and we decided to rent 3 tents, 1 tent good for 4 for Php 300 (we’re planning to put most of our things in here), 1 tent good for 2 for Php 250, and 2 tents good for 1 which they gave us for Php 200. For some reason, their good-for-4 tent can only accommodate 2 people and their good-for-2 tent is just the same as good-for-1, and it really is just good for 1! URGH! That’s not good! I already knew we will all have uncomfortable sleep. ย I’d rather sleep on the sand where I can stretch my legs. Good thing the caretakers in the island have an extra tent good for 4 (this time, it really is big enough for 4) for the same price of Php 300.

And we’re all set!

Lunch followed after setting up our tents.

We set up our tents beside our cottage.

 

And the remaining time was ours to waste!

 

theย day after…

Few clicks in the port…

The only group picture we have ๐Ÿ™‚

If you have tips on how I can improve my pictures, please, please, please, let me know. TIA! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

7 Comments

  1. What I would give up to have the same experience. ๐Ÿ˜€ Tenting it up is such a neat idea. Maybe one day, hopefully one day. Those are fine, fine, fine images of our beautiful country. When I read your last sentence, in my head, I think you are nuts that you think these images need improvement. Insane! ๐Ÿ˜€ Although, I feel like the watermarks are distracting though and really eats attention viewing the sceneries.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sand as our bed was really a great experience! Thanks for the feedback on my pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am really thinking of minimizing or removing my watermarks cause it really takes time putting one. Though you would still see it on my next post, cause it’s been in my draft queue for almost a month already ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

    1. Thank you so much for spending time to read my post. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Having 7, 641 islands, we are indeed blessed. You should come and visit some of those islands ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We did during the end of last year but as most first-timers, we spent our 1 week in Palawan, Cebu & Manila. It was one of the best trips we’ve ever taken ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow! It’s so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay here. Those are good choices, especially Palawan. I switched to your page to view your posts and it really made me miss Palawan. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Every time we see our own Palawan pictures, we go into a withdrawal ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It is beyond stunning. What we’d really love to do on a future trip is go where locals like yourself go, they’re as beautiful without a large number of travellers visiting. ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep up the great work!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

