The Stillness of Lake Apo – Valencia, Bukidnon

Being the only visitor in the lake, the loner in me rejoiced. Gladness was all I felt when I was there, just sitting on the raft in the middle of the placid lake and looking at the green water and hills surrounding me.

My friend and I decided to spend the 3rd day of our Cagayan de Oro tour in Valencia, Bukidnon. I was in the same place last year, but I was in Dahilayan for some fun and thrilling activities. I wanted to go to Lake Apo but time didn’t permit me. So this year, I made sure that I will have this lake crossed out on my list. And I DID!!! YAY!!!

According to my good friend, Wikipedia (lol), “Lake Apo is a crater lake in Barangay Guinoyoran in the city of Valencia in Bukidnon province in the Philippines. It was awarded the cleanest inland body of water in Northern Mindanao Region (Region X) in the late 1990s. The name of the lake come from the bisaya term apo, meaning elder or grandparent. According to legend, there was a man living in the mountains who assaulted his granddaughter and was punished by the mountain deities for his disrespectful act by flooding the area forming the Lake Apo.”

Being the only visitor in the lake, the loner in me rejoiced. Gladness was all I felt when I was there, just sitting on the raft in the middle of the placid lake and looking at the green water and hills surrounding me.

Sharing with you the photos of Lake Apo….

b78a90c8-7eca-4c36-b435-84e82563e4ef
“Welcome to Paradise!” that’s how I read the signage 🙂

The caretaker pulling our raft.

I love how the raft, the trees and even the sky reflected in the water.
The clouds decided to cover all the blues, so it was just whites and greens.
After half an hour, two more groups and young people came in. They reminded me of how simple life is for youngsters.
I worried that it will rain, but thanks God it didn’t. 🙂
Vacant Rafts…
D’ Timeless Place, a resort on the other side of the lake.
This “balsa” costs 330.00, and we used it for almost 2 hours. You can use it for as long as you want.
I just have to include this pic, hehe 😀

This is the greenest lake I’ve seen so far.

It would have been fun to spend a night in this place — rent a kayak, swim, set up a bonfire, watch the sunrise or just commune with nature. Just looking at the undeniable beauty of Lake Apo would make me so occupied.

4 thoughts on “The Stillness of Lake Apo – Valencia, Bukidnon

Leave a Reply

